iBake – Double Chocolate Cookies

I like chocolate almost more than anything else. I also really enjoy
cookies. So when I saw these cookies on Pinterest a bit ago, I knew we were destined for each other.

20140131-230346.jpg


First of all let me tell you, you can do this. These double chocolate cookies are delicious AND simple. As a matter of fact, I’m confident you can nail them and will end up making them over and over again. They are perfect as is or they can be used as a base for something a little fancier or more decadent. Consider using them as a Valentine’s Day treat. In just two days they’ve earned me a thank you from my dad and a kiss from my hubs – chocolate scented no less. Mmmm.

20140131-230302.jpg

I was in the pie shop yesterday cleaning up and had finally thrown these together. As soon the first batch of these beauties was done, I brought some up to my dad. Talk about perfect timing! He had just come back from a short trip out of town and couldn’t find any chocolate in the house. Terrifying, I know.

We had a laugh over childhood memories of him and my mom trying to eat food without me knowing. They were totally frustrated, especially if they were trying to sneak a piece of chocolate, as I would come running and practically pry their mouth open to try and get some of whatever they were eating. Apparently, I was a food connoisseur from birth and had a strong sense of smell.

It seems that food is the constant thread of my life , connecting past, present and future. One of my favorite things about baking is the bond it creates between people. Or maybe it’s all about the chocolate.

If you want the recipe, I found it here http://www.annies-eats.com/2011/01/14/giant-double-chocolate-cookies/

Leave a comment