Chocolate Chip Cookies and an Unexpected Snow Day

Chocolate Chip Cookies. If you are a baker they are most likely either your nemesis or your claim to fame. Even if you’ve developed the perfect recipe, entirely your own or tinkered with someone else’s to give it your own flair, you’re most likely tempted to make one more recipe from a blog or Pinterest or a newspaper clipping. You do still read actual paper literature, don’t you? There’s a scientifically proven difference in intelligence between those who read turnable pages and those who turn their pages with just a finger, but I digress.

Cookies and unexpected snow days. How pleasant when they happen to coincide. Another digression, don’t you just love all these gadgets with spelling tools that allow you to correctly spell words like digress and coincide without looking them up in a dictionary? I’m much too easily distracted. Let’s move on.

Cookies. Chocolate chip cookies. Chewy, crispy, buttery, chocolatey, golden discs promising sheer detectible delicious delights. I’ve been craving them for days which is extremely unusual. I have a recipe I’ve created. It’s utter perfection, but honesty prevails and I must tell you right up front, it’s a pain to make. Therefore, I will not share that recipe with you because you may never make it. Chin up, don’t loose hope. I have a tasty, but simpler recipe to share.

Many times I must choose between the mundane events of every day life and baking. More and more often reason and logic prevail and baking looses out. I’m starting to sound quite depressing, but I am blogging whilst watching Sherlock Holmes. No further explanation needed, right?

Tonight, I fiercely determined to make chocolate chip cookies. My time and energy were in short supply and my husband and children particularly needy and chatty, so I chose to make David Lebovitz’s famed chocolate chip cookies with small alterations, of course. I got his recipe via instructables and didn’t compare it to the original before I BAKED THEM.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d86/63318805/files/2015/01/img_0941.jpg

With dough chilling in the freezer, I got a text notifying me that school is cancelled tomorrow due to all of Minnesota turning into a freezer. We had already started a Sherlock Holmes marathon which I was going to responsibly cut short. Perfect! Warm up the oven. Bake the cookies. Proceed with second movie.

David’s cookies had been made quickly and easily. It took only three of them and my craving was satisfied. I’m so glad I went with my heart and made the cookies. It seems we were destined to have a night of guilt-free, old-fashioned winter indulgence after all. I wish you the same some day, and if such a day comes upon you, remember to include these cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookies, similar to David Lebovitz's recipe


Ingredients
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 tsp. flour
1/8 tsp. sea salt

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup light packed brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp heavy cream

2 eggs at room temperature

12 ounces rough chopped chocolate of choice, I used lindt baking chocolate that I picked up from their outlet store nearby

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Sift together dry ingredients.

Cream together remaining ingredients except for eggs and chocolate. Once the mixture is light and fluffy add in the eggs one at a time, scraping the bowl after each.

Gently stir in the flour until incorporated then the chocolate.

Divide the dough into four equal parts. Wrap the dough in plastic and form into even logs. Refrigerate as long as possible, 24 hours or more. It really does matter!

Cut into 3/4 inch disks and bake on parchment in a preheated 350 degree oven for 8 – 12 minutes depending on your oven, cookie sheet and texture preference. Allow to sit on the cookie sheet for at least 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.


This is how much better the texture of the cookie is when baked on the second day. I baked some in the square pans I have so they would have more crunch on the edges.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d86/63318805/files/2015/01/img_0340.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d86/63318805/files/2015/01/img_0341.jpg

Leave a Reply

