Mountain Dew and Doritos Cupcakes

I amazed and horrified myself by making cupcakes with a boxed mix, but it was for a good cause. My very first graduating nephew is having an open house and I am making his cupcakes, all 12 dozen! I only have one picture of these cupcakes because to tell you the truth, I didn’t expect to ever tell anyone about them. Surprise, they were a hit! I decided you might want to know since it was actually difficult to find more than one recipe for Mountain Dew Cupcakes or Redneck Cupcakes when I was searching online.

When my sis asked if I would do it I was super excited, because I never know what they really think of my baking skills. Sweet! I am worthy of making baked items for their firstborn’s grad party. I’m totally treating it like a professional job. I’m trying to find out what the theme is, make some cool suggestions, the works. I even made them samples of some strange sounding cupcakes that I thought would fit in with his “redneck” theme. Only when I talked to him about his “redneck” open house he said, “I want a redneck party?” Brother, they are difficult clients.

Well, after I gave them their samples, I still had several dozen Chocolate Root Beer cupcakes and several more dozen Mountain Dew cupcakes so I started passing them around with the disclaimer that they didn’t impress me much, and they weren’t up to my usual “from scratch” standard. Now I wish I would’ve taken all the credit because they got rave reviews. My brother and the kids were crazy about the Mountain Dew Cupcakes. They said they tasted so fresh and delicious and they really liked my frosting technique. As a side note, another of my favorite tips got eaten by the garbage disposal. Drat! Note to self: keep track of tips when washing cake making supplies.

My dad was NOT going to take one at first even though he has a chocolate obsession because it had Root Beer in it. He’s been leery of my creations lately because I’ve been experimenting with gluten free desserts. We convinced him to try one and I got a text a few minutes later asking for more. Today he told me that was the best chocolate cupcake he has ever had, frosting and all.

I think these cupcakes are better the day after you bake and frost them. I was skeptical that I would be able to taste the root beer in the chocolate cupcakes or the frosting, but I could. It was faint and surprisingly pleasant. I’m going to get off my “everything has to be from scratch” high horse and tell you the recipe. When the public demands something, you just have to give them what they want whether you agree or not!

To make the Chocolate Root Beer Cupcakes simply substitute a Duncan Hines Devil’s Food Cake Mix for the Orange Supreme Cake Mix and Substitute A&W Root Beer for Mountain Dew in both the cupcakes and the frosting. Also, for the frosting omit the orange juice and add 1 tsp high quality vanilla extract, thinning it out with 1/2 and 1/2 if necessary. I recommend this Madagascar Vanilla Extract from vanillaqueen.com

[recipe; title=”Mountain Dew and Doritos Cupcakes”; Difficulty=”Easy”; Serves=”24 cupcakes”]

Mountain Dew Cake Ingredients
1 box Duncan Hines Orange Supreme Cake Mix
1 small (3.5 ounce) box lemon instant pudding
10 ounces Mountain Dew
2 large eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil (if you are looking for a more moist cake, use 1/2 cup)
10 drops Young Living Essential Lemon Oil
10 drops Young Living Essential Lime Oil
Green paste food coloring (optional)
24 cupcake liners
Nacho flavored Doritos

Mountain Dew Cake Directions
Preheat your oven to the temperature on the boxed mix. If you are using a different mix than the one suggested, follow the package directions for that cake mix, adding in the instant pudding mix and substituting the Mountain Dew for the water.
Mix all the ingredients except green food coloring according to the package directions. Just before you are going to fill your cupcake liners, swirl some green food coloring through the batter with a knife. I used kelly green and it looked great.
Scoop into your cupcake tin lined with cupcake liners filling each well evenly, about 1/2 full.
Bake 3 – 5 minutes less than the package directions making sure your cupcake pans are in the center of the oven. Cakes are done when you gently push on the center and they spring back. Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the pan and then remove them to a cooling rack. Cool completely before frosting.

Mountain Dew Frosting Ingredients
10 ounces Mountain Dew, reduced over medium heat until it is a thick syrup
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
4 cups confectioner’s (powdered) sugar, about 1 pound
zest of 1 lime
zest of 1 lemon
zest of 1/2 orange
up to 1/4 cup orange juice
Dash salt

Mountain Dew Frosting Directions
In a heavy saucepan over medium heat, combine Mountain Dew and citrus zests. Continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the soda has reduced at least by half and is thickened. If you cook this too long and too high it will get very gooey. If this happens, remove it immediately from the heat and add orange juice to thin it out. Cool the mixture to room temperature.
I recommend using a stand mixer for your frosting, but using mixer of your choice, cream together the butter, salt and the shortening. Slowly add in confectioner’s sugar and Mountain Dew alternately, mixing until smooth. Scrape down the bowl and while mixing on medium speed drizzle in enough orange juice to get the consistency that you want.
Place crushed Doritos around the edges of your frosting or put a whole Dorito into your frosting immediately after you frost your cupcake as this icing will crust somewhat.
To get the ruffled look on my cupcakes I used a Wilton 1D tip. To get the striped effect I put Wilton Kelly Green food coloring paste on a knife and painted it on opposite sides of my pastry bag. I used Wilton Golden Yellow food coloring paste and did the same thing in the open spaces. Then I filled my pastry bag with frosting and slightly turned my bag as I was piping. This blogger posted a picture, but their stripes were thinner because they used a toothpick to apply the paste.
[/recipe]

20140602-225225-82345110.jpg

Leave a Reply

