iBake – Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

20140228-191839.jpg

It’s my hubs fault. I really wanted a cinnamon roll and I even had the recipe picked out, but I was going to be a good girl and get a scoop of frozen yogurt instead of making another mess in the kitchen. When I mentioned wanting a cinnamon roll he said, “you could make some kind of healthy chocolate chip cookie.” Suggesting that to me is like throwing a stick and saying fetch to a dog!

Why would I care but he wouldn’t if I made a mess in the kitchen? Because unbeknownst to my hubs just a few hours ago my kitchen looked like this:

20140228-193356.jpg

How could he manage not to notice? He was gone all day while I was at home “wasting my time”, as my 13 year old put it, making 5 pans of lasagna and a pork loin roast. My hands had gotten really dry with this second snap of cold weather and so my finger split open – medical – blah, blah. Well, that put me pretty far behind so when I left the house for an appointment the kitchen was a mess.

He still wasn’t home when I got back – whew! The kids had an easy day so they came and cleaned up the kitchen while I finished supper.

It turns out it was a good thing for all of us that he wasn’t home for the first mess. He suggested a baking adventure, helped me make them (resulting in a few recipe variations – oops), and cleaned up the kitchen. Wow!

The day I had called for a sweet and salty ending and these delivered just that. My kids really liked them, too.

Keep in mind that these will spread quite a bit. I baked mine in a greased individual brownie pan, but you could use a cupcake pan with cupcake liners or just grease an 8×10 pan and make them into bars. They hold together best when allowed to cool for several hours, truthfully overnight is optimal if you want a cookie you can pick up and eat.

20140228-192026.jpg20140228-194623.jpg

Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Servings: 16
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit:  Inspiration was my hubs adding too much molasses to Carolyn’s Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup Unsweetened coconut, finely shredded
  • 1 1/4 cups almond flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp Erythritol or other sweetener of choice
  • 2 TBSP molasses
  • 3 Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup Chocolate chips, as desired

Instructions

  1. Using the metal blade on a food processor or using a coffee or spice grinder, blend the coconut until it is very fine, but not turned into nut butter.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients, except the chocolate chips and blend until combined, stopping to scrape the bottom at least once.
  3. Mix in the chocolate chips by hand and scoop out the cookies into your paper lined muffin tins or into a greased 8×10 pan.
  4. Bake in a preheated 325 degree oven for 8-12 minutes or until just beginning to brown and barely firm to the touch – this will take longer for 8×10 pan, of course. Set the timer for 15 minutes and go from there.
  5. Allow to cool for at least 5 minutes with the muffin tin and 20 – 30 minutes for the 8×10 pan before removing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

