iBake – Southern Apple Dumplings and a Lesson About Cast Iron Skillets

I must confess. I have never eaten southern apple dumplings. I cannot tell you if they taste like these as the recipe title claims. I hope the originator of this recipe did not falsely advertise these golden, buttery, sweet morsels.

20140224-120242.jpg

These are a crowd pleaser to be sure, and another great family project. All three of my kids thoroughly enjoyed making them with me. Hey, the snow around here is taller than some of us and it turned really cold the day we made them so it was a good indoor activity.

20140225-163929.jpg

Everyone, and I mean everyone, agreed, “These taste fantastic.” They almost didn’t. They almost all got thrown in the garbage. But I listened to that quiet inside voice we all have but love to ignore, and happily the apple dumplings survived to be eaten.

20140224-121411.jpg

Since I show these baking in a cast iron skillet I feel I really should mention what I learned about them. You shouldn’t bake apple desserts in cast iron skillets. Apples are acidic and cast iron reacts with acidic things. I actually learned this a long time ago, but on this occasion I talked myself into believing that this law of nature didn’t apply to me.

After they were baked and cooled my quiet inside voice said, “Do not leave these in the cast iron skillet overnight.” I was tired. I was so ready to be done prepping, baking and cleaning. My quiet inside voice turned into an out loud wondering. My hubs really didn’t want to be bothered by my no longer quiet or inside voice. It was time for bed. I wanted to ignore that voice too but I knew better my hubs looked it up on the internet and told me my voice was 100% correct.

I dug out some glass baking dishes and transferred, covered and refrigerated the gooey, buttery, pastry wrapped apples. If I had ignored said nudging my dumplings would have been black and tasted like aluminum foil the next day. As it was they were in the pan long enough to start a reaction and the caramel had a slight grey tint when I served them. Thankfully no one, including me, mentioned it. My confidence has suffered slightly though.

  • Servings: 8 per can of dough
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit:  Here is what you will need for this recipe which I found here:

20140224-120525.jpg

Ingredients

1 baking apple, cored, peeled and cut into 8 pieces
1 can of crescent roll dough
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
6 ounces 7-Up soda
9×13 or smaller baking dish, greased

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat melt butter, sugars and cinnamon together. Cook, stirring frequently to prevent scorching, until mixture has thickened.
  2. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla, set aside.
  3. Open can and separate dough into 8 triangles per the directions. Starting at the small, pointed end roll the dough around your apple being sure it is completely encased.
  4. Arrange apple-filled rolls in prepared baking pan giving them enough room to expand as they bake.
    Cover evenly with caramel sauce and pour soda over all.
  5. Immediately place in middle of preheated oven and bake for 40 – 50 minutes or until the tops are golden.
  6. Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

