iBake – Gluten-free Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

Gluten-free chocolate chip cookie pie piece.jpggluten-free chocolate chip cookie pie 3.jpg

This cookie has chew. It has texture. It has gooey chocolate goodness. The one thing it doesn’t have is gluten. I’m not gluten intolerant, but as a baker I’m always looking for sweets that will really satisfy those that are. This cookie pie gets 10 gluten-free satisfaction points.

The other reason why this recipe  from All Day I Dream About Food is such a keeper is because it would make a very good pie crust – sans chocolate perhaps and using about half the batch, it would provide a dense, buttery, chewy base to a fruit or custard pie that I think would hold up well. That will have to wait until another day.

gluten'free chocolate chip cookie pie 2.jpg

Making this cookie pie was the start to what unfolded as one of my best days in recent history.  There was no rush to get out of bed as the kids had the day off school, and I happen to be married to a man who forces everyone to stay in bed until he’s ready to get up, doesn’t mind when everyone stays in bed, is pretty relaxed about the morning schedule.  I had spied this recipe on Carolyn’s website just the day before and happened to have all the necessary ingredients on hand.  It was almost the first thing on my mind, so per usual I popped into the kitchen, mixed it up, and put it into the oven before I ate breakfast.  Bonus – it comes together really quickly.

 

I baked it for the prescribed 18 minutes – it still looked gooey and under-baked as the recipe said it would, so I took it out of the oven without hesitation and let it cool for about 20 or 30 minutes while I started to get ready for the day.  The recipe said I could try it at that point so I did.  It was a puddle – a slick, slippery, free-form mess in my pie dish. I knew it might be my fault as I had doubled the amount of chocolate just to finish up my half-full bag of chocolate chips.  I readily confess I have a serious problem with doing my own thing when it comes to recipes.

I was faced with a decision.  Leave it alone and eat it frozen or reheat the oven and put it back in.  Now, I have told my husband over and over again the cardinal rule of baking (I guess it’s actually one of them, as now that I think of it there are quite a few) “Once a baked good is out of the oven it cannot be returned to it to finish baking.  Make sure it is done before you take it out.”  Back when we were first married there were a few times when the timer rang and he would take my creation out of the oven then come get me to check and see if it was done.  You see where this rule comes from, right?

gluten-free chocolate chip cookie pie 4.jpg

Back to 325 degrees went my oven.  Once it was hot I put the pie plate back in for another 15 minutes.  The cookie had puffed back up and now the entire surface, not just the edges, was a nice brown color.  The end result was more than perfect, although I know that’s not possible.  I had defied the cardinal rule of baking and it worked.  I cannot say I was surprised though.  That cardinal rule of baking is for wheat flour based baking and this recipe has no wheat flour therefore putting it back into the oven a second time was a very safe bet, of course.

This all happened on a gorgeous Minnesota winter day after a fresh snow fall and somewhere in there I had sent all three kids outside.  After my cookie pie dilemma was successfully solved and (I’m pretty sure) the kitchen was put back in order, I went outside to sled, too.  When they saw me coming toward them they ran and gave me hugs.  They were so happy to see me.  Awh – big smile inside.

Once we came inside the boys were eager to play Minecraft (what is up with that game?  They are completely hooked.)  After a short debate with my hubs, I decided to brave the snow-laden roads and took my daughter to the mall.  I’m not a fan of the mall, but she had been asking for a while for a girl’s day where we could go to the mall together and just walk around.  It was fun.  I let her choose where to go and what to do.  She’s my daughter so of course her day included a stop at Godiva for chocolate covered strawberries and bananas and we stopped at Teavana to drink their samples.  She talked, we held hands, she got a new outfit, and there were no boys to mess it up (her opinion:).  I’m glad I took the spontaneous opportunity to give her something that was meaningful to her.

My hubs had dinner ready when we got home – sweet – and he took Abs to her violin lessons so I got to go sledding with the boys.  We walked home together from the sledding hill and talked about random things that boys need someone to talk about.  I’m glad I was there to listen.

I’m naturally a hard work and results oriented person, and many times my satisfaction comes from the physical accomplishment and progress of the day.  I often fight frustration if I end up at the end of the day without anything to show for it, but I have realized that being there for my kids is doing something.  Many times it is the single most important thing I can do with my day. By quieting my inner struggle and slowing down my schedule so that I have enough time to seize these opportunities, I can end my day having accomplished much more than checking off jobs on a list.

As I went to bed, I noticed I was smiling.  It was that sweet, deep down, couldn’t be any happier type of smile.  The day, while totally unplanned, had yielded complete satisfaction.

Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookies – Low Carb and Gluten-Free

  • Servings: 1 large cookie, 10 servings
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

A low carb chocolate chip cookie dough twice baked in a pie plate for one amazing gooey-chewy dessert that is gluten and almost sugar-free!
Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ cups almond flour
  • 3/4 cups finely shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 2 tsp molasses (optional but highly recommended)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 ounces chocolate chips of choice OR chopped 85% or higher cacao chocolate

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325F and lightly grease a 10-inch deep dish ceramic pie plate
  2. In a food processor bowl fitted with a metal blade, shred your coconut until it is in pretty small pieces.  Switch to the plastic blade and add in the almond flour, coconut, baking soda and salt.  Pulse until combined.
  3. To the same bowl add butter, coconut oil, palm sugar, molasses, if using, egg and vanilla extract.  Process until thoroughly combined.  You should use a spatula to scrape the sides and bottom at least once.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips or chopped chocolate until well combined.
  5. Spread dough in prepared pie plate 18 minutes, until light golden brown. Cookie will be very soft and puffed when removed from oven (it won’t seem cooked through).
  6. Let cool at least 15 minutes and place back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes.  Cookie will appear more set than before and the entire top of the cookie should be a darker brown.
  7. When warm, it will not come out in proper pieces so you will need scoop it out to serve onto plates. It will continue to firm up and get a more chewy texture as it cools so if you want to serve it in pieces, let it cool completely before cutting. I recommend it warm for extra gooey-ness!

As it was originally posted (with only 3 ounces of sugar-free chocolate and swerve sweetener) each serving has 8 g of carbs and 3 g of fiber. Total NET CARBS = 5 g.  234 Calories; 22g Fat (79.9% calories from fat); 4g Protein; 8g Carbohydrate; 3g Dietary Fiber; 34mg Cholesterol; 118mg Sodium.

Credit:  If you want to make this delicious dessert as originally posted, you can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

